Evaluation & Demand

Hey Guys! I’m a bloody Rookie in AS and rn I am looking for routes and good Aircrafts but I have 2 questions:

1. Evaluation: In the last table column there are percents I heard that they’re showing the capacity utlization and then theres a Number. Is the number the revenue or the profit? I mean I’d earn less than the total costs of the flight.

2. Demand: If I take a flight between 2 Airports with a demand of 9 for both airports, are my flights going to be booked?
    Thx in advance

Welcome to AS!

For your first question - that evaluation is imperfect, because unless you’re operating the idyllic single-cabin, price, staff cost, fuel cost, etc that they present, that number is not to be taken with any seriousness. You can use it to do some comparative advantage work (comparing aircraft) or to see whether a route just pushes a plane too much, but not for that level of analysis to have any degree of certainty.

For your second question, demand is relative, so not all two airport pairs are the same. However, I’d reckon a 9-to-9 should fill any sort of pair. Don’t be afraid to go lower, especially if you don’t want to be obliterated by any sort of competition. 7, 6, 5 bars will be good options too. 4, 3 if done right. The bars of demand should not be your only or paramount source for route evaluation. Think about real life patterns and connections.

I can lead the way to the community tutorials - there’s the official one

Handbook | AirlineSim Handbook

This one is here on the forums and is quite good, if old

AS for beginners - an attempted blog - English Boards / Community Support - AirlineSim Community

and there’s this one which is quite good as well, though heavily leans on this external tool called AS Routemap (which is quite useful, to be fair, but not absolutely necessary to start)

AS Route Map | An introduction into AirlineSim

What I suggest to all new players is: