ASX Tools Chrome Extension for Airline Sim

Thread is getting long and messy. Putting this at the top:

Current version: v0.0.0.11 - Alpha testing 11 (2023-02-03)

Intro
I’ve been playing AS for several years now (I think 5 or 6).

Multiple times in the past few months the subject of chrome extensions came up, both related to AS with the old ASE extension, and for other reasons outside of AS.

I decided the best way to learn how chrome extensions work was to actually write one from scratch. Writing one for AS seemed like a good fit since it was something I was interested in.

Long story short, this is the extension I have right now. It has four features to start with, and I have ideas for adding more over time.

Current features

1. Embedded AS Route Map Link on the airline info page.

This was a good first item to tackle since it wasn’t very complicated, but it is useful. I use AS Route Map all the time, and I know other people do, too.

Click on an airline and go to the overview page. Next to the “short-haul”, “medium-haul”, “long-haul” links it will now add a link to AS Route Map for that airline. Click the link and the flight map for that airline on AS Route Map will open in a new tab.

If it opens and you’re in the middle of the ocean, it means the airline does not exist or is not updated on AS Route Map.

1. Salary adjustment relative to country average

This was something that is in the ASE extension, but was a good second item for me to work on. More complicated than a link, but not overly complicated. It functions much the same way as the ASE version.

On the personnel management page, in the last row of the table at the end in the “Country Average” column is a text box. That is how much you want to adjust salaries relative to the country average. You can do anything from -50% to 100%, which doubles the country average. 0% will set them to the country average.