IPO...when?

When should someone do an IPO in this game?

I would never IPO

You care to explain why?  An IPO gives you access to capital.  Now you do give up a portion of your company but you can still keep control with 51% ownership.  I would say putting 20% of your company isn't necessarily bad.

If you always want to keep your own company, don't IPO. You would lose the ability to freely transfer funds between your company and holding after the IPO. I don't see too many benefits from that

Ahh thanks TWA, I didn't realize that was the case in this game.  So another question if you don't mind?  How do I transfer funds between my airline and the holding company?  I'm still new to the inter-workings of the game.  Thanks!

You simply own an aircraft, then transfer it to the airline. When you sell it back to the holding, you get the value of the aircraft.  You would pay twice much money at the first time, but you can benefit from that later on for as many times as you want.

Thanks!

When your airline is in the market, you can't just transfer the aircraft from holding to the airline. It adds the difficulty to transfer funds. Of course, of you have a good friend ingame, maybe you can transfer money by selling aircraft back and forward. 

You can see the difference after an airline IPO.

OQwcJtP.png?2

BKmjkyg.png?2

You need the first option to do a simple transfer

Okay gotcha.  So can I transfer funds from my airline to my holding company?

You can do it either way when you get an aircraft not in service

Okay thanks!

I guess I'm little confused.  My holding company doesn't have any cash.  So how do I transfer cash to the holding company?

Your airline can buy an aircraft, let's just say it's an LET. You use the first option to transfer it to the holding. Then you sell the LET back to your airline using the second option. By selling the aircraft, your holding gets a price of an LET. That's how it works