Understanding demand (for a newbie)

Hi,
I’m new to the game so please bear with me if I’m complete wrong about something :slight_smile:

I’ve created what is meant to be a regional airline based in Stockholm in Junkers. The airline is a mix of hub-and-spoke + bunch of unrelated point-to-point flights (I understand the former is more profitable in Airlinesim, but at this point I’m just trying different things to gain some experience).

The idea for my waves was to have a bunch of flights arriving from regional airports and a bunch of flights departing mostly for international destinations (or the other way around). But it seems that my passengers only want to connect to other domestic flights.

For example, one of first inbound flights that got filled up nicely was from Umeå to Bromma. All passengers are connecting to my other flights, but it seems everyone wants to travel to Malmö or Gothenburg - those two connecting flights filled up nicely (with connecting pax), but international flights remain pretty much empty.

Thus I wonder how is the demand calculated. Does it distinguish between domestic/international destinations (even within Europe)? In real life, Umeå mostly gets domestic flights, but significant share of passengers are connecting to somewhere else in Europe (or beyond). Does this affect Airlinesim’s demand calculations in a way that it assumes people from Umeå only want to travel domestically, or did I just pick wrong international destinations?

And some secondary questions:

• Is the demand based on airports or cities? For example, Stockholm is served by Arlanda and Bromma. Do these airports share the same demand, or is it separate for each airport?